System Archiving and Import/Export settings

• Hello

I am pretty new to Juniper world and SSL VPN.  😄  I would like to clarify what is the difference between system archiving and Exporting configuration.

So far what I understand is you can use system archive to do the schedule while exporting doesn’t allow you to schedule.

In export config, there are 2 types of export(system and user) and I believe you need to do both exports to save from blue moon day.

So my questions are :

1. Does system archive save everything including network setting, license, user roles/realms, resources?  What is difference from exporting?
    2. How to restore the archived files as there are multiple files?  Which file needed to be restored for what purpose?
    3. What is the best practice to DR purpose?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Regards.

• Thanks for your information.  We are still in v 5.5 as already heard enough problems about v6.  :mrgreen:

• Note that there appears to be a bug in 6.0R3 at least whereby when you send your archives automatically to an SCP server (maybe even FTP, I don’t know).  The IVE will log and trap that the archive operation failed, but the archive files are actually sent.  Juniper says it’s a known issue that will be fixed in a future release.

• Hi Spacyfreak

Thank you for your time and help.  Now I get clearer picture of how it works and what to do next.

Do you have any idea on hostchecker which i posted in another thread?  Hehe… 😄

Thanks again!

Regards.

• 1. Does system archive save everything including network setting, license, user roles/realms, resources?  What is difference from exporting?
    Yes, it saves EVERYTHING. Difference is the format, and you can do scheduled backups via archiving.

2. How to restore the archived files as there are multiple files?  Which file needed to be restored for what purpose?