HOWTO: Netscreen and Windows XP native VPN client

• Hello,

as the subject of this topic states I want to create a dialup VPN to a Netscreen Firewall. To make it more complex I will choose the onboard Windows VPN client. At the moment only a few documentations exist and most of them contain only pieces of the whole setup process. Different threads in discussion groups out there state that the whole XP-VPN/Netscreen thing will not be possible but they lack the proof that this cannot be done. In the next weeks I will take some time to investigate all the traps that may occur in this context and will continue this thread whenever I have reached a new “milestone”. Please be patient with some modes of expression but I am not an firewall expert at all. I know some basic concepts but from time to time I may choose the wrong explanation. Maybe I will fail, maybe I will need some magic, but at least a can say afterwards that I have tried it. So let the headache begin …

STEP 1: Checking prerequisites

At the moment there are only two software requirements that have to be met. You will need a Netscreen with ScreenOS 5.1 and higher. This is the first firmware that will support a VPN client behind a router that has no official internet IP address (NAT-T). On the client side you will need Windows XP with at least SP2. It contains the so called L2TP/IPSec-NAT-T-Update (MS KB818043) that will enable the client to handle this situation correctly.

From the design aspect we will have to use a certificate based IPsec authentication. Preshared keys will not work for Windows XP roadwarriors as the builtin client only sends its IP or its FQDN as Phase 1 ids. This does not matter as certificates should always be the choice to go.

STEP 2: Creating a root certificate.